Word-Meaning Mismatch

Go to Home

Names, before and at the time of giving, can be meaningless. Any pronounceable combinations of sounds work (I cannot conceive of a name that cannot be pronounced–maybe I am being anthropocentric despite my effort, helplessly because I am a human). Once a name is given, it gathers meaning–meaning born of its association with its host and a host at least exists and existence and its modalities inescapably delimit the host and maps it in a field of coordinates of attributes. Once a name takes on certain attributes, it does not mean other attributes than these attributes. Every word is a name–names of actions, states, qualities, times, places, manners, and other modalities. Every word means what they mean, though their semantic boundaries are always in fluctuation. However, most human dealings happen around the center of the focal meanings–“girl” means “girl,” not “boy,” and “justice” “justice,” not “injustice.”

But sometimes we humans make each other believe X is X, while our X is just how it looks and sounds, not the meaning, or we intend to mean Y. The language of most advertisements is insane and absurd not because they are meaningless but because they intend to make us believe their words mean what they would mean elsewhere while they actually are using beautiful and enchanting words as baits enticing us to doing something else which has nothing to do with those words–to buy the products, which don’t do what they are projected as doing. Consider, for example, any perfume ads, and see what they tell us. Here are a few.

Meaningless is fine. Art can be meaningless. But it is chicanery to make someone believe that something meaningless means something so that they pursue what is apparently meant by the display only to end up doing something else that has nothing to do with the original stimulus.

Meaningless. I love it. A lover of art, I love things for what they are, how they look, not for any purpose they serve. Colors, shapes, smell, and so on are inherently value-free–apolitical, amoral, asemantic. I love that purity. But things in our valualized world don’t occur in their pure form. That is why are often deceived by our fellow humans. Look at the picture below. I took it yesterday.

The back of the man’s shirt (formerly part of a uniform) reads SECURITY. What does that mean?

I know nothing about this man. I saw him working nearby. I held up my camera wondering if how he worked there would make a good picture. Then, zooming in, I saw the insignia and the big letters, intriguing me, making me forget all about photography. While I know nothing about this man, what I suspect (if that shirt he was wearing was not somebody else’s) is that he had worked somewhere as a security guard, giving security to others. What about his security? Maybe his job was not secure enough, giving his family not enough security, with him unable to attend his cares. He left his security service job and took up the work of a construction worker.

Oh! I have to go now. Will come back and continue to write.

Go to Home

Leave a Reply

